top of page
Search
  • Joe

Star Wars Toys, Where should I start?

I am 49 years old and I am ready to get back into collecting Star Wars action figures. This blog is my request to all the Star Wars experts out there.

Where do I start and how do I approach this new hobby?

I was lucky enough to be six years old in 1977 and the Kenner line of toys fit perfectly with my childhood. My family was fairly poor but my parents did everything they could on birthdays and Christmas. I never felt like I was missing out. I might not have gotten everything from Kenner when it came out...but the figures found their way to me.

Not only did I get every figure from 1977/78 thru 1984 but I even had most of the ships and playsets. I loved the Ewok Village, the Death Star, Falcon, X Wing, Tie Fighter, etc...

By 1984 I was 13 and puberty started kicking in...the love for action figures was starting to fade away since Star Wars was going away and my mind was starting to wander and think about sports and girls. I never finished that last run of figures that was released at that time.

I got married early. I sold off my baseball card collection and many of my ships and playsets to help with the purchase of my wife's engagement ring (1992). I was still able to keep hold of many of my Star Wars action figures. I left them in a Rubbermaid storage tote for when I had a kid. That did not take long as my son was born in 1993. Some of his first toys were my original action figures.

My son almost repeated my history with Star Wars figures. I bought him every character from when Hasbro took over in 1995 until Revenge of the Sith in 2005. It was wild to see the switch of him asking for Star Wars stuff for 10 years to wanting jerseys, and Jordans. I completely understood and he left all of those figures with me to add to my OPEN collection of played with figures. I love having all these characters so now when my 26 year old son and his wife have their first kid, I am sitting here waiting to be the Star Wars Grandpa. I will have hundreds of toys for them to play with.

With the release of the Sequel Trilogy I started buying up a figure here or there. I started looking for characters that I liked or that were on sale. Slowly but surely this activity re-kindled my love for Star Wars action figures. I find myself stopping by the toy aisle in Target and Wal-Mart. I go by as garage sales or yard sales as I can looking for people getting rid of their old collections. ( I have found some great buys).

The HUGE part of my collecting that is missing is this:

Clone Wars and Rebels

I feel that these two animiated series' are as much a part of Star Wars as the movies but I missed that boat. My son was too old to collect at that time. I was too busy with work and family and thought that I had all I needed from 1977-2005. I was wrong. I love some of those characters so much and have no way to get them unless I spend WAY too much money on the secondary market.

My problem is where do I go with this hobby? I am wanting to jump in with both feet. My kids are grown up and moved out. I am ready to spend some discretionary funds every month on this activity that makes me feel like a kid again.

My questions for all of you that know so much more about this hobby are these:

Would you focus on 3.75 inch characters or 6 inch figures? All of my past figures are the 3.75 inch style but I have purchased a few 6 inch figures and I really like them

Do you open your figures or keep them in package? I played with my figures, my son played with his...and I hope to have a collection for my grandkids to play with.

Where are the best places to get the current action figures? Is online the way to go?

People say Hasbro Pulse and Entertainment Earth are the best...True? Other good options?

I am a blank canvas. Send me your advice and watch out as I start this journey armed with your advice! @rulethegalaxysw jfm3rhs@gmail.com


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page